Skip to main content

Research Paper Help: Articles

Help

Google Scholar

Some text of articles available free. Information about Scholar and how to set Scholar Preferences to Pensacola State College to find text of articles in library databases is located here. Request articles not available through Interlibrary Loans.

Quick Start for Articles Search

To choose article databases by subject, go to Getting Started with Databases.

Need to do a quick article search? Use Academic Search Complete to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. (What is your login?)

For general information about using library article databases, see About Articles & Databases, below

About Articles & Databases

  • Print issues of magazines, journals and newspapers, housed in the respective libraries, are in alphabetical order by title. Search PSC's online catalog, to see if a particular title is held at any of the campus libraries.
  • Libraries subscribe to many article databases that provide access to full-text articles from magazines, journals and newspapers (all often referred to as periodicals).  
    • Publishers of articles in databases have licensed the use of the publication to the database producer.
    • In some instances, certain types of articles are not available (for instance letters to the editor or editorials).
    • Agreements between publishers and database producers can change and determine what the database will make available.
    • The best article for a particular research need might not be available online. In that case, the print copy must be used.
  • Not all publications provide their articles free of charge on the Web.
    •  A Web search may turn up some free articles, but the vast majority of publications charge for their articles.
    • Google Scholar is a good source of scholarly literature and can lead to the content of library article databases.  
    • Using the library's databases generally provide better quality articles than a simple Web search. Articles in these databases have appeared in print and have undergone professional review.
    • Most databases provide article citations starting in the mid 1980's. Full text is usually available from the early 90's.
  • Some articles published before 1984 may be found in databases, but most can be located using print indexes available in the library. See a reference librarian for help locating older articles.
  • Some databases contain a Find Text? button beside an article that links to Pensacola State's collection of databases where an article is only indexed in one database, but may be available full text in another. 

Journals vs Magazines

Distinguish between journals, magazines and other periodical publications. Most library article databases provide a check box for limiting results to scholarly or peer-reviewed journals.

Free Article Databases

No login required.

If your Articles are not Available

If PSC library's databases don't have access to the magazine or journal needed, articles may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

Many library databases have a request form within the database. Called Interlibrary Loan, ILL or Request, this feature allows users to request materials not available online. Interlibrary Loan services are available only to PSC faculty, staff and students.

Please note: the library cannot request copies of articles from publications we already own.