Skip to main content

Research Paper Help: Information by Type

How do I...

Research Guides by Subject

The following are Librarian-created subject guides which link to recommended sources.

Information by Type

Type of Information Needed Currency Sources Access Points
Established knowledge on a topic; background material; broad approach as well as detailed information Up to two years old or older, due to publishing process Books, Library videos

Library catalogs: Pensacola State & Florida colleges, (includes ebooks), Florida public universities, UWF catalog, WorldCat (worldwide catalog, login required), Google Books and Gutenberg Project

Quick facts; reference material; background material Varies Reference sources Almanacs, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Statistics (listed on the right), Virtual Reference Library (Electronic encyclopedias: login required)

Timely/popular information

 

 

Daily, weekly, monthy. Indexed online from 1984+;
more fulltext from 1994+; older articles in print indexes

Articles in popular magazines

 

 

Indexes & fulltext articles, Florida Electronic Library (requires no login if using Internet access in FL)

 

 

Focused and/or research articles Weekly, monthly quarterly, annually. Indexed from 1960's (depending on subject)+;
more fulltext from 1994+; older articles in print indexes
Articles in journals Indexes & fulltext articles, Florida Electronic Library (requires no login if using Internet access in FL)
Daily recountings and/or editorials Daily, weekly, or more often. Indexed from 1984+;
more fulltext from 1994+; older articles in print indexes
Articles in newspapers, Web sites Indexes & fulltext articlesFlorida Electronic Library (requires no login if using Internet access in FL), online newspapers, news websites such as ABC, CBS, MSNBC, NPR, Associated Press, etc.
Statistics Varies Almanacs, statistical abstracts

Data.gov (click on TOPICS), Almanacs, Internet sourcesStatistical Abstract (last published in 2012).

Mix of information produced by well-established organizations, people or publishers, as well as not so useful information produced by anyone Varies The Internet Search engines
Multimedia Varies Library videos, The Web

Pensacola State & Florida colleges, (includes multimedia)
Images: 
Image search engines
Videos: Academic Videos Online (login required) YouTube, Google Video SearchBing Videos, History.com Video Gallery.
Audio: 
FindSounds and History and Politics Out Loud.
**Be aware of copyright restrictions when using sound files. Access the Creative Commons, which permits "legal sharing and reuse of cultural, educational, and scientific works."

Information from experts (unpublished) Varies People, colleges, universities, other For best academic results, check with faculty. For general information, which may or may not be accurate, try Yahoo Answers.  Also see Ask an Expert from LibrarySpot.
Primary or secondary information Varies Vary Explanation

Primary vs Secondary Sources