Skip to main content

Theater History: Overviews / Summaries

Arts & Humanities Through the Eras

This encyclopedia covers arts and humanities, which includes theatre, from Ancient Egypt (2675 B.C.E.-332 B.C.E.) through The age of Baroque and Enlightenment (1600-1800). Each period covered includes a chapter on theater

  Overviews & Summaries: Print Sources

The following books are in the Reference area of the Pensacola Campus Library, first floor.

Using Arts & Humanities Through the Eras online

Arts & Humanities Through the Eras is available online thrugh the GVRL database (Gale Virtual Reference Library) and is a good starting point for an overview of the theater through the ages.

To use the online version, click the title, when the new window opens, click on: "Click here to view this ebook." Then use the Table of Contents to select a time period. Login required.

 

From Choose a volume (on the left), select a time period by using the dropdown menu:

Overviews & Summaries: Online Sources

Drama for Students is available online through the library catalog from the Gale Virtual Reference Library. From the catalog record for this ebook set, click on the phrase: "Click here to view this eBook." Login required.

To search the multiple volumes of Drama for Students online, enter the author's name or the title of the play into the search box, making sure that the check boxes to search within this publication and all volumes in this edition are checked.

Overviews & Summaries: Online Sources

The Literary Reference Center Plus database provides summaries and overviews plus literary analysis and criticism. To search for a summary and/or overview, enter the author's name or the title of the play (or a combination), leave all Document Types boxes checked, along with the Full Text box, then click Search. The Biographies and Plot Summaries tabs contain the material from Critical Survey and Masterplots series.

Login required.