Online access to materials from the special collections and archives of 11 Florida universities. Subject areas include Native American and minority populations, tourism, the natural environment, and regional interests.
News accounts about Florida published by newspapers from around the United States between 1762 and 1885 when there were very few newspapers operating in Florida. Items in this collection are from the William and Sue Goza and the Thomas and Georgine Mickler Collections at the University of Florida.
The Boca Raton Historical Society provides access to local area newspaper archives, including the Weekly Tattler, The Pelican, The Spanish River Papers, and the Boca Raton News. Coverage is sporadic, primarily covering the 1930s, 1940s, and 1950s.
Using the Google News search tool will only produce results in the past 30 days, so using a web search is necessary for older content. Highly recommended as the archive includes newspapers from around the state beginning in 1849. If you have problems searching, please contact a librarian for assistance.
Documents from the Diocese of St. Augustine, providing the oldest existing records for people of African descent in the United States, including baptismal, marriage, and other records from 1594-1882. Some items may need translation from Spanish.
interviews with several of Florida's civil rights leaders who were active at the height of the civil rights movement in the United States and in Florida during the 1950s and 1960s. Provides details about local, regional, and national civil rights issues.
The North Florida Education Project was CORE's voter registration and community organizing effort in the heavily African American counties of northern Florida just below the state borders with Georgia and Alabama.