LibGuides: Bachelor of Science: Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice

EBP Tutorials and Tools

List of EBP Tutorials and Guides--Rush University Medical Center
Rush University compiled a list of online tutorials and tools freely available focused on EBP. Note: Resources included on the list are not affiliated with PSC and are not supported by the College.
Evidence-Based Practice--Duke University
Duke's multimedia research guide includes tutorials on evidence-based practice and PICO. NOTE: This resource is not a part of PSC Libraries and not all content is accessible.
Nursing Experts: Translating the Evidence--Public Health
This guide is a tool for learning about evidence based practice and a portal to evidence based practice resources. The guide was developed with a primary audience of public health nurses but will be of interest to everyone interested in learning more about evidence based practice.

ASU Evidence-Based Practice Step by Step from AJN
Arizona State University College and Nursing and Health Innovation's Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice wrote a 12-part series of articles on implementing and evaluating EBP for the American Journal of Nursing. All 12 articles are combined and presented here.
AJN EBP 2.0
The American Journal of Nursing issued a new series of articles that build on the Step by Step series and that feature case studies illustrating the various strategies that can be used to implement EBP changes. This is a collection of 8 articles that have been combined.
John Hopkins Nursing EBP Research Appraisal Tool
This form walk you through the steps to evaluating research.
John Hopkins Nursing EBP Question Development Tool
This form is used to develop an answerable EBP question and to guide the team in the evidence search process. The question, search terms, search strategy, and sources of evidence can be revised as the EBP team refines the EBP question.
John Hopkins Nursing EBP Evidence Level and Quality Guide
John Hopkins Nursing EBP Dissemination Tool
Once a new EBP is established, this form helps you get word out to the people who need to know.

Sources for Systematic Reviews, Meta Analyses & Meta Syntheses

ECRI Guidelines Trust
For more than 50 years, the people of ECRI have been unyielding in their work to protect patients from unsafe and ineffective medical technologies and practices. Now, with the acquisition of the Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP), we have created one of the largest healthcare quality and safety entities in the world.
U.S. Preventive Services
The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in disease prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of people nationwide by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.
The Community Guide
The Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide) is a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school.
Cochrane Library
The Library does not have a subscription to the Cochrane Library. This link is provided for bibliographic research only. If you find a review you are interested in, contact the library and we will help you get access to that review.
MEDLINE/PubMed via PICO with Spelling Checker
Search PubMed and Medline using your PICO terms.

Using CINAHL to find Evidence-Based Practice Articles

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.

CINAHL Complete has two easy ways to search for articles that reflect EBP.

1. From the main search page, you can select Evidence-Based Care Sheets from the blue menu that runs across the top of the page. You can then browse the sheets that CINAHL Complete has curated or you can search for what you are looking for in the persistent search box.

2. From the main search page, select Advanced Search under the persistent search box. From the Advanced search page, you can select Evidence-Based Practice as one of your limiters (right column).

Also, notice that you can limit by the first (listed) author being a nurse or by any author being a nurse.

Questions? Please contact the library at 850-471-4626.

Bachelor of Science: Nursing

Resources

Virtual Librarian Zoom

Faculty Librarian

EBP Tutorials and Tools

Sources for Systematic Reviews, Meta Analyses & Meta Syntheses

Using CINAHL to find Evidence-Based Practice Articles