Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Vietnam War Memory Project

This guide has been developed to assist students and instructors participating in Pensacola State College's Vietnam War Memory Project.

Faculty Librarian

Profile Photo
Melissa Davis
Contact:
Warrington Library
850-484-2263

General Search Tips

1)  When searching, always make your most important term the first term in your search.  For this project, use Vietnam War; an alternate search under Viet Nam War should also be considered.

2)  Have a number of other words ready to add to your search.  Remember that different search terms will bring you different results.  For this project, try adding words such as journalism, television, press coverage, mass media

Academic Streaming Videos

The library subscribes to Films on Demand, a database that provides video content appropriate for academic research.  Videos can be watched in their entirety or as individual segments on your computer.  To access Films on Demand,you will have to login through a Canvas course or by using your PSC library ID and PIN.

An example of what you will find in Films on Demand is "Military's mistrust of media", a segment in the Iraq: War and Truth video.

 

Library Print and eBooks

Web Resources

Articles from Databases

Using the search tips on the left, search the following databases for relevant articles on the influence of mass media on the Vietnam War.

  • History Reference Center
  • JSTOR
  • Military & Government Collection

 

Examples of articles that one can find in these databases are

HISTORY REFERENCE CENTER:

McClancy, K. (2013).  The iconography of violence: television, Vietnam, and the soldier hero.  Film & History, 43(2), 50-6.

 

JSTOR:  

Rollins, P. (1984). The Vietnam War: perceptions through literature, film, and television. American Quarterly, 36(3), 419-432. doi:1. Retrieved from https://www-jstor-org.db21.linccweb.org/stable/2712741

MILITARY & GOVERNMENT COLLECTION

Rather, D.  (2001).  Truth on the battlefield.  Harvard International Review, 23(1), 66.